Stop and Smell the Roses

I have been extremely busy these past few weeks and have been unable to post anything. My apologies. Classes got crazy, and I have had to prepare a 15 page paper, a 10-13 minute group presentation and 6 page paper, an environmental science project and power point presentation, researching and writing a 8 minute persuasive speech on the illegal elephant trade, and (finally!) a 10 minute theater production (including furnishing costumes, writing the script, painting set pieces, and performing).

Needless to say, I’ve been quite busy. Despite it all, my stress level has been relatively low (a 6/7) and I’ve been enjoying my last few weeks of sophomore year. Which I find ironic, really. I am sitting on the threshold of halfway done with college, and I’m not stressed out about my impending doom. Honestly, I’m not.

That’s not to say I’m overly cocky or anything, I am simply confident in my abilities to succeed. I am determined to graduate school, on time, and with a good GPA. You could say I’m highly motivated. While al this is true, I just want to take a step back and remind myself (and all of you) to not get bogged down in the little details.

One of my favorite 80’s movies Ferris Bueller’s Day Off has an amazing quote about life. “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” And I’m of the opinions that this quote is always of importance. Yes, Ferris was a goofy high school boy looking for some fun, but honestly, can’t we all relate to that? Take a break from our responsibilities and just let go?

So much of life is bogged down in the little details. Judging others for the money they do/do not make, clothes they buy/wear, etc. I honestly think if we all took a day to just chill out life would be so much more enjoyable. We work 40+ a week and then on weekends we feel the need to pretend we have a life and go out and do stuff. But honestly, sometimes I prefer to stay in and unwind. Don’t feel the need to pretend you have something. If people judge you for not going out and enjoying your so-called “life” then they’re who need to get a clue. Pretending to do anything isn’t healthy. If you need a break, take one.

Stop and smell the flowers on  the way to work. Enjoy the little things in life. Cause ultimately, it’s the little moments that make life beautiful .

Leave a Reply

